Hello! I finished classes last week! Yay! So it is good to finally have some free time.

So, recently I was on Facebook and saw that a female relative of mine was sent home for what she was wearing. I was talking about it with someone else, mentioning that I thought it was ridiculous. Since when is a teenager not allowed to wear torn jeans?! She agreed and said that the same thing happened to someone she knew. I also started to see online that the same thing had happened to other girls. I knew things like that happened in the IFB, but seriously outside of it to??? There is so much that is wrong with this treatment of girls and women.

“Cover up so you don’t lead men astray.” “Change that outfit it isn’t modest.” “You are asking for it, wearing that.” I am sure that many of us have hear those words before. There are so many ways to tell women to hide their bodies and all of them are wrong! Instead of telling little girls to cover up, maybe parents should teach their sons to control themselves! Women and their clothes are not the problem, men and disgusting minds put together are the problem! Girls should be able to walk down the street wearing whatever they want to and not have to worry about being assaulted. Our clothes are not the problem!

Telling little girls to cover up teaches them that they should hate their bodies and be humiliated by them. I have a few people that I am friends with on Facebook that are still in the cult. One of the mothers posted a picture of hear daughter wearing a really loose fitting dress. She wrote that she was happy to find a modest swimsuit for her daughter. Her daughter is no older that 4. Why?! I can only imagine the self image issues the poor child will have in the future. As a kid, my parents were constantly telling me to cover up. I literally hated myself for it. I hated that I was a girl most of all. I was so humiliated by it. Even though now I am glad to be a woman, I still struggle with hating my body. I was told as a young girl that I was curvy (which I am) and that I had to be extra careful with what I wore. I was told on multiple occasions to change my clothes. Once at a job I held at a Christian preschool and the principle came into the classroom and told me in front of the children that I needed to change and handed me a big oversized shirt. I took it, smiled  but when I got to the bathroom I cried. (That was before I actually started to stand up for myself.) The whole experience was extremely humiliating and taught me to hate my body only more then what I already did.

So instead of telling girls how to dress and that they should look and act a certain way, why not teach men how to treat women with respect? Boys should be taught that women are not theirs to be had. They should be taught to leave us alone while we are walking down the street. They should be told that yelling out “Hey sexy” or “nice ass” isn’t acceptable. Instead they should be taught how to respect women. They should be told that being called beautiful goes a lot further than someone saying we have a nice rack. They should be taught to use self control. We are all humans and have sexual urges, but like any other urges and desires there is a time and a place for them. It is never to be forced and it is never to be yelled out at a women in the mall. If parents raised their sons right, this wouldn’t be an issue.

All that having been said, I do realize that not all men are like this. There are many good men out there who respect women. There are men who believe that women should be allowed to wear whatever and do whatever and not be humiliated. To those men I say Thank you!!

Stop telling little girls that they need to cover up and instead of sending them home from school and humiliating them, tell them that they are perfect, beautiful, and they don’t have to cover up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

